Is a trailer that sits higher than the tow bar an issue?

everything camper trailers, trips, tips, tricks & mods

Moderators: krp102, Coxy68, robcaz

auziemb

Is a trailer that sits higher than the tow bar an issue?

Post by auziemb » Wed Oct 08, 2014 10:21 pm

I bought a camper yesterday :D a Lifestyle Extenda 2011 after much research, with still many more bits to sort ready for a big trip around OZ next year.

I have hopefully a quick n simple question.

The trailer has large wheels on it, as it used to be towed by Nissan patrol, however for the next 6 months or so it will be towed by my ford falcon wagon, until I can upgrade that as well.

I'm new to towing & this is my 1st camper trailer.

So my questions: The draw bar when level sits higher than my cars tow bar, is this an issue when driving? & if so, what is the best way to solve it?

the trailer tyres are 265 diameter and my ford are 215.

Thanks for your input. Matt

TinkCT

Re: Is a trailer that sits higher than the tow bar an issue?

Post by TinkCT » Thu Oct 09, 2014 8:16 am

Personally I would change your CT tyres to suit the tow vehicle. The CT will tow better if it is level.

leeke0

Post by leeke0 » Thu Oct 09, 2014 8:28 am

Hi Matt,
The Repco catalogue that arrived on the front lawn yesterday has trailer ball mounts that step down from box section that goes into the towbar. I don't know if you can reverse them to raise the height of the towball. Maybe ask Repco!
Malcolm

Beagle47

Post by Beagle47 » Thu Oct 09, 2014 11:02 am

The rig is best level WHEN CONNECTED or the trailer slightly higher. Reversing the towbar tongue/ball mount is an easy way to get closer to the ideal. Rated towballs are also available with a built in collar which raises the ball height (different size collars available). Tongues are available with a wide range of mount height variations. Variable height tongues are also available but expensive, heavy, and probably overkill for what you want.